Fred Stewart Shangri-La Award

Lake Rabun Association, Inc.

Fred Stewart Shangri-La Award

Recipients & Criteria


The Fred Stewart Shangri-La Award was created in 2001 in memory of and to honor Fred Stewart, founder of Mountain Patrol Inc., for the many years that he committed to the safety and well-being of the Lake Rabun community.


The Award periodically recognizes individuals who have performed extraordinary and selfless acts to benefit and protect the well-being of the Lake Rabun community.  The award is given to members of the Lake Rabun community whose service goes beyond the call of duty and who are willing to give of themselves for the benefit of others.


2001 - Dr. Joseph P. Mims

2009 - The Bill Davis Family

2015 - Ben McCracken

2016 - Michael Crowe

2017 - Jack Dickens, Bill Davis, Anne Marie Hoffman, John Polhill

2019 - Jim Roberson


Recipients are recognized at our semi-annual General Membership meetings, receive a plaque and have their name placed on the podium, built by Buz Stone, that is used during such meetings to honor Fred Stewart.


Nominations may be given to any member of the Board of Trustees or Officers of the Lake Rabun Association.

Nominations may also be sent to:

or mailed to:

Lake Rabun Association, Inc.

Attn: President

P.O. Box 490

Lakemont, GA 30552



The Lake Rabun Fund is a Fund of the North Georgia Community Foundation, a 501(c)(3) charitable organization.